Book Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

16101128

Book Title: The 5th Wave
Author: Rick Yancey
Series: The 5th Wave #1
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 7th 2013
Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi, Dystopia
Age Range: 14-17 years old
My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

button (5)

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.


MY THOUGHTS

Although I heard mixed reviews about this book, I thought that the synopsis sounded interesting so I decided to read this. I quite enjoyed it, but I must say that there were a couple of things I was not so keen about.

I was sort of confused with whose perspective I was reading so I was guessing as I read. Then the other thing is the forced love. Everything was wonderful already, the love story is unnecessary.

I’m not particularly interested about aliens but I found myself enjoying this one. Fun Fact: This is actually the first book I read with aliens in it.

The book is told in multiple perspectives but I liked Cassie’s narration the best; at some points I just want to skip the other point of views just to read hers, good thing I didn’t though because I would miss out on a lot of details and that would suck. I love her personality and it was so much fun to read about what goes on in the mind of this teenager after surviving four waves of alien attacks in attempt to wipe out humanity; Cassie made my whole reading experience more enjoyable. Without a doubt, she is my favorite character in this book.

The plot was amazing! It kept me guessing throughout the whole story. The author did a great job on building this world that I feel like I’m a part of. You know you like a book when you feel like you’re inside it. I definitely recommend this!

All book cover photos and summaries are taken from Goodreads.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. Other people pointed out that the perspective changing was a bit confusing – and I was indeed confused at the beginning of the novel – but it wasn’t a problem for me overall. I’m so glad you liked it!! I kinda want… but also don’t want to watch the movie. ugh, I don’t want it to ruin the story for me if it’s bad!! 😦

    Like

    • I kinda don’t want to watch the movie too because all the book to movie adaptations I’ve watched so far were nowhere near as good as the book! (But I also want to watch it because of the actors in it.)

      Like

  2. Pingback: April 2016 Wrap-Up – Mind of Luxe

Leave a Reply

