Teaser Tuesday: My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Books and A Beat.

Teaser

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This week’s book:

22308720

Book Title: My Heart and other Black Holes
Author: Jasmine Warga
Series: Standalone
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: February 10th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Death, Mental Health, Realistic Fiction, Romance, YA
Age Range: 14+ years old

button (5)

A stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Laurie Halse Anderson

Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.

There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution—Roman, a teenage boy who’s haunted by a family tragedy, is looking for a partner. Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together.

Teaser:

I pull the charcoal-gray comforter over my head and pretend like I’m in the middle of the ocean, waves crashing over me, my lungs filling up with water, the whole world turning black. I try to imagine my potential energy turning into kinetic energy turning into nothing.


As weird as this might sound, I actually felt those two sentences. Like really felt it.

Have a teaser of your own? Leave a link to your post in the comments section, or if you don’t have one you can just comment a teaser below too. Thanks for stopping by!

All book cover photos and summaries are taken from Goodreads.

13 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

    • I felt the same way when I saw the summary on Goodreads. My mom actually offered to pay for this specific ebook for me because apparently her friend’s daughter liked it, so who am I to argue? Free books, yay haha!

      Like

  1. This was without doubt one of my favorite reads last year. The prose is simply brilliant and something I could relate to as well… Like the teaser you mentioned above.

    Here’s my teaser of The Munich Girl by Phyllis Edgerly Ring. Happy reading!

    Like

  2. I really liked this one. These are the kind of contemporary reads I’m drawn to, but you’ve got to prepare yourself when picking up books like this. I think we’ve talked about this before, I’m getting major déjà vu. Hope you enjoy the rest of the book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

