Book Review: Untethered by Katie Hayoz

untethered

Untethered

Book Title: Untethered
Author: Katie Hayoz
Series: Standalone
Publication Date: April 3rd 2013
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Age Range: 14+ years old
My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

button (5)

Sylvie isn’t comfortable in her own skin. In fact, there are times she can’t even manage to stay inside it. But if there is one thing she’s sure of, it’s her love for Kevin Phillips. She’s willing to stake everything on it –her family, her friends, and possibly her soul.

Sixteen-year-old Sylvie has been best friends with Cassie forever. But everything is turned around when the boy Sylvie’s loved since fifth grade falls for Cassie. Devastated, Sylvie intends to get Kevin by any means possible, even if it involves treachery, deceit, and the dark side of astral projection. She is positive her plans will give her what she wants, but she doesn’t count on it all spiraling out of control.

Untethered explores the intoxicating and dangerous world of jealousy and obsession when coupled with paranormal ability. Finalist in Mslexia novel competition.


I received a copy of this book from Xpresso Book Tours (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review.

MY THOUGHTS

I never knew that my brain could function really well when it’s 3:00 in the morning. I didn’t notice that I stayed up until 2:00 a.m. finishing this book, and I wrote a draft of this review in the next hour. Now, editing it, I realized that this post is gonna be way too long so I might cut off some things here and there. But I hope this post will help you in some way!

So, the book is divided into two parts: the first part and the second part (duh) and I have really different feelings about them. Let me talk about the first part. In terms of the characters, I already felt detached to the main, Sylvie Sydell.  I must admit that I relate to Sylvie in the sense that don’t fit in my own skin either (but I obviously do not astral project). Also, there are times that I sympathize with her because she’s obviously going through more than what she can handle. But Sylvie can get really boring, selfish and insensitive at times and that irks me.

While on the topic of characters, let me say that I really like Cassie. She’s very mature, especially when compared to Sylvie. Cassie puts aside her problems just to help others with their own. She never does things she actually want to do because she always thinks of everyone first. And personally, I think Cassie needs a story of her own.

Story and plot-wise, the first half of the book dragged on. It was a bit too boring and too slow. It took me days to finish reading the first part! I think Sylvie’s personality (as I mentioned earlier) contributed a lot to it too.

Now, the second part of the story. To say that it pleasantly surprised me is an understatement. I was dead set on giving this 2 out of 5 stars when I was about 50% in but when the first part ended and the second one started, oh my God. Just wow. I devoured the rest of the book, I can’t believe it.

Despite saying that I felt indifferent to Sylvie, I warmed up to her eventually when her character development started to show. Although at one point, I started to worry that the dispute with Sylvie and someone—I won’t say because I don’t like spoilers either—wouldn’t be resolved properly because I’m getting dangerously close to finishing the book without the problem getting dealt with yet; but it turns out that there was nothing to be worried about. The author did a great job of settling the dilemma in such little amount of pages left.

On the other hand, the issue between two people (again, you’ll have to read the book to find out) weren’t cleared up. That was a bit bothering, but what can you do? And the story was wrapped up pretty good, but I think it’s better off without the last chapter.

I’m sorry if the stuff I’m talking about makes no sense at all, my eyes are literally closing on their own. But overall, I’m amazed at how much I enjoyed this. This is kind of like a cliche contemporary romance with a paranormal twist, and it’s surprisingly great. I think it’s creative how the author put in astral projection with the main issue which is self-acceptance. I understand the feeling of not being comfortable in my own body, and astral projection seems like something I would do too, if I could.

Would I recommend it?

Yes, definitely check this out! If you’re a fan of paranormal—heck, even if you’re not—this is a fantastic read. I don’t normally reach for the paranormal genre but I’m super glad that I requested (and got approved) for this copy.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Untethered by Katie Hayoz

  1. Great review!! I’ll have to look for this next time I’m at the library!! 😀 And random question- you said you don’t normally go for paranormal. Have you read the Sweet Evil trilogy by Wendy Higgins, or the Lux series by Jennifer Armentrout? They’re the two that really got me hooked on the paranormal genre. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

