Blog Tour: The Country Escape by Jane Lovering [REVIEW]

Book Title: The Country Escape
Author: Jane Lovering
Publisher: Boldwood Books
Release: September 1st 2020
Genre: Romantic Comedy, Women’s Fiction

Goodreads Amazon

Welcome to the idyllic country retreat of Christmas Steepleton, and let Jane Lovering whisk you away with the most heart-warming, romantic and comforting read of the year.

Leaving London and her ex-husband Luc behind, Katie and her 14-year-old daughter Poppy move into their very own, very ramshackle cottage near the village of Christmas Steepleton on the Dorset coast. 

Harvest Cottage has been unloved for many years, so the job of bringing it back to life is a slow and expensive one. So, with funds running low, Katie jumps at the chance when a film company asks to use the cottage as a location.  But even as things are looking up, as harvest time passes and autumn chill starts to bite, the prospect of a cold winter in the country is daunting.

Some light relief comes from new friend Gabriel, so different from Katie’s exuberant but arrogant ex Luc. Will their friendship blossom into something more romantic, or will the reality of a tough country winter send her and Poppy scurrying back to the comforts of town? 

Let Jane Lovering spirit you away to the perfect country escape, far away from the bustle of the city. Just right for fans of Emma Burstall, Fern Britton and Kate Forster.

Content/trigger warnings at the end of this post may contain spoilers.

I received a copy of this book from Rachel’s Random Resources and the publisher for reviewing purposes as part of a blog tour. This does not influence my opinions in any way.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I’ve recently been into romantic comedies, not just in books but apparently in movies I watch too! So, I’m glad to bring you my tour stop for The Country Escape, which was such a fun and cozy book to read! At first, I didn’t have any kind of expectations as this is the first book I’ve read from the author, so I’m really glad that I ended up liking this one.

I think the big part as to why I enjoyed this so much is the characters. It was very interesting for me to read, not only about the main characters, but also the side characters. I also have to say that I absolutely love Poppy and her adolescent attitude, which made me laugh a lot and ultimately made her one of my favorite characters. Also, I think I connected to her more because I’m closer to her age. But that’s not to say that I did not connect with the other characters!

With that, the character arcs is another aspect I adore in this book. Gabriel’s backstory, specifically, I was the most interested in. He definitely feels like a real person instead of a fictional character in a book.

The plot itself is delightful to read about, and the setting adds even more to the reader’s experience! I mean, who doesn’t love rom-coms set in a small town? If you’re a fan of romantic comedies, or just entertaining and heartwarming reads in general, I suggest you pick this book up!

🚨 Click to reveal content warnings which may contain spoilers for the book. 🚨

– Mention of bullying
Please inform me if there are other warnings I missed.

 


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jane Lovering is the bestselling and award-winning romantic comedy writer who won the RNA Novel of the Year Award in 2012 with Please Don’t Stop the Music. She lives in Yorkshire and has a cat and a bonkers terrier, as well as five children who have now left home.


FOLLOW THE TOUR

1st September
Bookstacks & Golden Moms
The Book Decoder
Cover Lover Book Review

2nd September
ReadingGirlReviews
Kraftireader
Ginger Book Geek

3rd September
Books, Life and Everything
Little Miss Book Lover 87
Books and Bindings

4th September
Being Anne
Books Are Cool
donnasbookblog

5th September
Suzy Turner, Books & Style
Mind of Luxe
Bookish Jottings

6th September
Afternoonbookery
Portobello Book Blog
Splashes Into Books

7th September
Tizi’s Book Review
Herding Cats
Rajiv’s Reviews

Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources for organizing this blog tour!

GOODREADS | TWITTER | TUMBLR | PINTEREST | FACEBOOK | EMAIL | KO-FI

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Country Escape by Jane Lovering [REVIEW]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s