Blog Tour: Murder Ahoy! by Fiona Leitch [Review]

Book Title: Murder Ahoy!
Author: Fiona Leitch
Series: Bella Tyson #2
Release: June 15th 2020
Genre: Cozy Mystery

Goodreads Purchase Link

Famous crime writer Bella Tyson is hired to co-host a Murder Mystery cruise, on a luxury liner sailing from Southampton to New York. She’s expecting an easy ride; fun and games, surrounded by amateur sleuths and fans of her books, all the while staying in a deluxe cabin and enjoying the spa and the amazing restaurants on board, culminating in a visit to one of her favourite cities in the world – the Big Apple.

She’s NOT expecting to be stuck on a boat in the middle of the Atlantic with her two least favourite people in the world, her hot but unfaithful bastard ex-husband Joel Quigley and fellow crime writer, bitch goddess and Twitter frenemy, Louise Meyers. And when real live dead bodies start turning up – as well as fake not-really-dead bodies – Bella’s dreams of being pampered on the high seas turn sour.

Accused of a murder she would have liked to commit but didn’t, and helped (or hindered) by a gang of unlikely detectives, can Bella find out who the real murderer is before the ship reaches its destination and New York’s finest drag her off?

Read More »

Blog Tour: More Than Just a Pretty Face by Syed M. Masood [Review, Moodboard & Favorite Quotes]

Book Title: More Than Just a Pretty Face
Author: Syed M. Masood
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release: August 4th 2020
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Apple Books Amazon B & N Book Depo Google Play

For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man.

Danyal Jilani doesn’t lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he’s funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn’t approve of his career choice, but that hardly matters. What does matter is the opinion of Danyal’s longtime crush, the perfect-in-all-ways Kaval, and her family, who consider him a less than ideal arranged marriage prospect.

When Danyal gets selected for Renaissance Man–a school-wide academic championship–it’s the perfect opportunity to show everyone he’s smarter than they think. He recruits the brilliant, totally-uninterested-in-him Bisma to help with the competition, but the more time Danyal spends with her…the more he learns from her…the more he cooks for her…the more he realizes that happiness may be staring him right in his pretty face.

Content/trigger warnings at the end of this post may contain spoilers.
Read More »

Blog Tour: The Greenbecker Gambit by Ben Graff

Book Title: The Greenbecker Gambit
Author: Ben Graff
Release: May 1st 2020
Genre: Tragicomedy

Goodreads Amazon

‘I only feel truly alive when the chess clock is ticking and the patterns on the squares in front of me are dancing in my head. Very little else gives me the same feeling. Nothing else, that does not involve a flame.’

Tennessee Greenbecker is bravely optimistic as he sets out to claim what he sees as rightfully his – the title of world chess champion. But who is he really? Is he destined to be remembered as chess champion or fire-starter? Either way, might this finally be his moment?

Content/trigger warnings at the end of this post may contain spoilers.
Read More »

Blog Tour: The Wysman by Dorothy A. Winsor [Teaser + Giveaway]

Book Title: The Wysman
Author: Dorothy A. Winsor
Publisher: Inspired Quill Publishing
Release: June 27th 2020
Genres: Fantasy (Young Adult)

Goodreads Inspired Quill Universal Link

“The Grabber is just a fright tale.”

Former street kid Jarka was born with a crooked foot and uses a crutch, but that no longer matters now that he’s an apprentice Wysman, training to advise the king. When poor kids start to go missing from the city’s streets, though, Jarka suspects that whatever’s causing the disappearances comes from the castle.

Now he needs to watch his step or risk losing the position he fought so hard to win… but when someone close to him becomes the latest victim, Jarka knows he’s running out of time.

His search takes him from diving into ancient history to standing up to those who want to beat or bleed the magic out of him. Will Jarka succeed in uncovering an evil long-hidden, or will he see friends and family vanish into the darkness? And whose side is the King on, in his determination to bind his nobles to him no matter what black arts they’ve dabbled in? If Jarka fails in his search, his own future won’t be the worst thing lost.

The Wysman follows Jarka after the events in The Wind Reader, but this YA Fantasy can be read independently.

Read More »

#HOVForestofSouls: 8 DIVERSE + QUEER NECROMANCY Books on My TBR!

Hello, friends! I am so happy to be bringing you this feature post as part of the surprise book release tour for Forest of Souls organized by Hear Our Voices Book Tours!

The release of Forest of Souls is just around the corner and I am looking forward to the day I get myself a copy of this one and finally be able to read it! I mean, who wouldn’t want a book about surprise necromancy powers with a strong focus on friendship which, by the way, is authored by a Southeast Asian? *squeals in glee*

In light of this awesome book’s release, I was inspired to peruse through the never-ending void which is my TBR shelf on Goodreads and share with you 8 diverse and/or queer books that feature necromancy! Also, I’ve included links to reviews from bloggers I love for each book.

Read More »