Blog Tour: The Puppetmaster’s Apprentice by Lisa DeSelm [REVIEW, FAVE QUOTES, MOODBOARD & GIVEAWAY]

Book Title: The Puppetmaster’s Apprentice
Author: Lisa DeSelm
Publisher: Page Street Publishing
Release: 13 October 2020
Age group: Young Adult
Genre: Fantasy

Goodreads Amazon B&N B&N IndieBound

“Listen well. Soon, the blue moon, the rarest of all moons will be on the rise. At its waxing offer up one of your creations and by moonlight they will be given breath. Choose wisely who to awaken.”

With her puppet-maker father imprisoned and the land of Tavia on the brink of war, Pirouette does not have a choice other than to follow the ruler’s whims. But when he discovers her secret – that she was once a puppet brought to life by the magic of the blue moon—he demands that Pirouette create an assassin out of wood and then make it come alive.

Fighting against forbidden magic and racing against the rise of the next blue moon, Pirouette cannot help but wonder, if she is making a masterpiece…or a monster. And if she is making a monster, what does that make her?

Content/trigger warnings at the end of this post may contain spoilers.
Read More »

Blog Tour: The Country Escape by Jane Lovering [REVIEW]

Book Title: The Country Escape
Author: Jane Lovering
Publisher: Boldwood Books
Release: September 1st 2020
Genre: Romantic Comedy, Women’s Fiction

Goodreads Amazon

Welcome to the idyllic country retreat of Christmas Steepleton, and let Jane Lovering whisk you away with the most heart-warming, romantic and comforting read of the year.

Leaving London and her ex-husband Luc behind, Katie and her 14-year-old daughter Poppy move into their very own, very ramshackle cottage near the village of Christmas Steepleton on the Dorset coast. 

Harvest Cottage has been unloved for many years, so the job of bringing it back to life is a slow and expensive one. So, with funds running low, Katie jumps at the chance when a film company asks to use the cottage as a location.  But even as things are looking up, as harvest time passes and autumn chill starts to bite, the prospect of a cold winter in the country is daunting.

Some light relief comes from new friend Gabriel, so different from Katie’s exuberant but arrogant ex Luc. Will their friendship blossom into something more romantic, or will the reality of a tough country winter send her and Poppy scurrying back to the comforts of town? 

Let Jane Lovering spirit you away to the perfect country escape, far away from the bustle of the city. Just right for fans of Emma Burstall, Fern Britton and Kate Forster.

Content/trigger warnings at the end of this post may contain spoilers.
Read More »

Blog Tour: Escaping Demons by Killian Wolf [REVIEW & GIVEAWAY]

Book Title: Escaping Demons
Author: Killian Wolf
Publisher: Grim House Publishing
Release: August 30th 2020
Genre: Urban Fantasy (New Adult)

Goodreads US UK

One phone call landed me the perfect job. Too bad it didn’t come with life insurance.

I didn’t think this job would be anything special. Sure, the first phone call was weird, and yeah, maybe it wasn’t the smartest idea to come to someone’s house before I met them in person, but Dax seemed nice. All he wanted was a caretaker for his sick father.

Oh, and an exorcist for the spirits haunting his family’s estate. Now he’s left me alone with his father, and the ghosts know my name. Caring for an old man with dementia, I can do. Fighting evil spirits? That’s way above my pay grade.

But Dax has disappeared so I have to learn on my own or both Orlando and I might not live to see tomorrow…

Content/trigger warnings at the end of this post may contain spoilers.
Read More »

Blog Tour: The Con Code by Shana Silver [REVIEW & GIVEAWAY]

Book Title: The Con Code
Author: Shana Silver
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Release: August 25th 2020
Genres: Contemporary, Mystery, Young Adult

Goodreads Amazon B & N iBooks Kobo

A teen forger and thief forms a criminal crew from her high school friends (and crush) to perform a series of heists leading to the location of her missing mother in this action-packed contemporary YA novel.

By day, seventeen-year-old Fiona Spangler runs small cons for her ritzy prep-school classmates: getting them out of tests and forging fake hall passes. But by night, Fiona joins her dad on riskier heists: stealing back the clue-filled forgeries her mom scattered across the country before she disappeared. Fiona desperately hopes that her mother will be waiting at the end of the scavenger hunt she left behind.

And they are SO close. Just three more heists remain, but then disaster strikes when Fiona’s dad is captured by the FBI. Desperate to finish the job and save what’s left of her family, Fiona assembles of crew of teen criminals: a master of disguise who can transform into anyone, a talented hacker who only communicates in glares, and a rival con artist with a vendetta against—and possible crush on—Fiona.

All they have to do is perform three nearly impossible heists, solve her mother’s incredibly complex clues, and evade the FBI. Easy, right?

Content/trigger warnings at the end of this post may contain spoilers.
Read More »

Blog Tour: Dating Makes Perfect by Pintip Dunn [REVIEW, MOODBOARD & PLAYLIST]

Book Title: Dating Makes Perfect
Author: Pintip Dunn
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Release: August 18th 2020
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Goodreads Amazon B&N Kobo Google iBooks Book Depo Books A Million

The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because they’re not asked. Not because they’re not interested. Not even because no one can pronounce their long, Thai last name—hence the shortened, awkward moniker. But simply because they’re not allowed.

Until now.

In a move that other Asian American girls know all too well, six months after the older Tech twins got to college, their parents asked, “Why aren’t you engaged yet?” The sisters retaliated by vowing that they won’t marry for ten (maybe even twenty!) years, not until they’ve had lots of dating practice.

In a shocking war on the status quo, her parents now insist that their youngest daughter, Orrawin (aka “Winnie”), must date in high school. Under their watchful eyes, of course — and on dates they organize based on their favorite rom-coms. The first candidate? The son of their longtime friends, Mat Songsomboon—arrogant, dreamy, and infuriating.

Winnie’s known him since they were toddlers throwing sticky rice balls at each other. Her parents love him, so naturally he’s the perfect person for her to pretend date.

If only he weren’t her sworn enemy.

Content/trigger warnings at the end of this post may contain spoilers.
Read More »