Blog Tour: Dating Makes Perfect by Pintip Dunn [REVIEW, MOODBOARD & PLAYLIST]

Book Title: Dating Makes Perfect
Author: Pintip Dunn
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Release: August 18th 2020
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Goodreads Amazon B&N Kobo Google iBooks Book Depo Books A Million

The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because they’re not asked. Not because they’re not interested. Not even because no one can pronounce their long, Thai last name—hence the shortened, awkward moniker. But simply because they’re not allowed.

Until now.

In a move that other Asian American girls know all too well, six months after the older Tech twins got to college, their parents asked, “Why aren’t you engaged yet?” The sisters retaliated by vowing that they won’t marry for ten (maybe even twenty!) years, not until they’ve had lots of dating practice.

In a shocking war on the status quo, her parents now insist that their youngest daughter, Orrawin (aka “Winnie”), must date in high school. Under their watchful eyes, of course — and on dates they organize based on their favorite rom-coms. The first candidate? The son of their longtime friends, Mat Songsomboon—arrogant, dreamy, and infuriating.

Winnie’s known him since they were toddlers throwing sticky rice balls at each other. Her parents love him, so naturally he’s the perfect person for her to pretend date.

If only he weren’t her sworn enemy.

Content/trigger warnings at the end of this post may contain spoilers.
Read More »

Blog Tour: More Than Just a Pretty Face by Syed M. Masood [Review, Moodboard & Favorite Quotes]

Book Title: More Than Just a Pretty Face
Author: Syed M. Masood
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release: August 4th 2020
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Apple Books Amazon B & N Book Depo Google Play

For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man.

Danyal Jilani doesn’t lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he’s funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn’t approve of his career choice, but that hardly matters. What does matter is the opinion of Danyal’s longtime crush, the perfect-in-all-ways Kaval, and her family, who consider him a less than ideal arranged marriage prospect.

When Danyal gets selected for Renaissance Man–a school-wide academic championship–it’s the perfect opportunity to show everyone he’s smarter than they think. He recruits the brilliant, totally-uninterested-in-him Bisma to help with the competition, but the more time Danyal spends with her…the more he learns from her…the more he cooks for her…the more he realizes that happiness may be staring him right in his pretty face.

Content/trigger warnings at the end of this post may contain spoilers.
Read More »

#HOVForestofSouls: 8 DIVERSE + QUEER NECROMANCY Books on My TBR!

Hello, friends! I am so happy to be bringing you this feature post as part of the surprise book release tour for Forest of Souls organized by Hear Our Voices Book Tours!

The release of Forest of Souls is just around the corner and I am looking forward to the day I get myself a copy of this one and finally be able to read it! I mean, who wouldn’t want a book about surprise necromancy powers with a strong focus on friendship which, by the way, is authored by a Southeast Asian? *squeals in glee*

In light of this awesome book’s release, I was inspired to peruse through the never-ending void which is my TBR shelf on Goodreads and share with you 8 diverse and/or queer books that feature necromancy! Also, I’ve included links to reviews from bloggers I love for each book.

Read More »