Book Series Review: Slated #1-3 by Teri Terry

Welcome to my first book series review! This post will consist of reviews for all three (3) books in the Slated series by Teri Terry. This would not contain any spoilers but if you haven’t read Slated, the first book, I suggest you stick with the first part of this post only, just in case. Same goes if you haven’t read Fractured, the second book, I suggest you stick with the first and second part of this post only. 😉

My general view on this series is pretty positive. I liked this one and I recommend this if you’re a fan of dystopia!


12743472Book Title: Slated
Author: Teri Terry
Series: Slated #1
Publication Date: May 3rd 2012
Genres: Dystopia, Science Fiction, Young Adult
My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

button (5)

Kyla’s memory has been erased,
her personality wiped blank,
her memories lost for ever.

She’s been Slated.

The government claims she was a terrorist and that they are giving her a second chance – as long as she plays by their rules. But echoes of the past whisper in Kyla’s mind. Someone is lying to her, and nothing is as it seems. Who can she trust in her search for the truth?

MY THOUGHTS

I have no idea as to how I can write a coherent review because I literally have zero notes. I usually take down a couple of notes when reading so I can easily write a review afterwards. For this one, however, I became too absorbed in the story to that. Well, here goes…

Stating the obvious, I really enjoyed this one. I think that the beautiful cover and the intriguing blurb set very suitable expectations for the book. The overall plot was good; it always kept me wanting more. The concept of being Slated, wiping all memories for those under 16-year-old lawbreakers, is interesting. I also think that Kyla’s dreams are really thought-provoking, as it may provide clues to the mystery of who she was before being Slated.

I warmed up to Kyla, our main character, despite her being dull at times. She has been Slated after all, and she has the Levo which prevents her from having extreme emotions so I understood why her character can seem dull.

The only thing that kept me from giving this book a 5-star rating is that I feel like the end was anti-climactic. I was actually surprised when I flipped the page and all I saw was the acknowledgements. But I suppose that’s understandable, there are two more books in the series, anyway. Also, the thing between Kyla and Ben feels a bit insta-love so that kind of turned me off. Other than that, Slated was a great read which I flipped through very quickly because I really got immersed.


13490543Book Title: Fractured
Author: Teri Terry
Series: Slated #2
Publication Date: April 4th 2013
Genres: Dystopia, Science Fiction, Young Adult
My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

button (5)

Perfect for fans of the dystopian settings of The Hunger Games and Divergent, the gripping second installment of the Slated trilogy is a riveting psychological thriller set in a future where violent teens have their memory erased as an alternative to jail.

Kyla has been Slated—her personality wiped blank, her memories lost to her forever. Or so she thought. She shouldn’t be able to remember anything. But increasingly she can—and she’s discovering that there are a lot of dark secrets locked away in her memories. When a mysterious man from her past comes back into her life and wants her help, she thinks she’s on her way to finding the truth. But this new knowledge lands her in the middle of a tug-of-war between two dangerous adversaries, and despite her misgivings about both of them, she’s forced to choose a side for her own protection.

MY THOUGHTS

I really like the first book so you better believe that I have a heck of an expectation for this one. Fractured met the said expectation, for the most part.

This is the part of Kyla’s story wherein she regains her stolen memories, find out what happened. Because of that, I kind of got annoyed at Kyla sometimes because of how stubborn she can be. I guess she’s just curious in nature but sometimes, what she’s doing is just borderline stupid.

As I anticipated, there was a lot going on here. Like information dump. I liked getting to know more about who Kyla was before. There were plot twists, some I saw coming but some not at all. I actually cried in a certain part of the book, for a certain character. It’s just so heartbreaking, it really had me going.

But as you can see, I rated this one star less than what I’ve rated the first book. Why? I’m not really sure. Maybe because this didn’t leave much of an impact on me as the first one. Maybe I was looking for more about certain characters. But I still really enjoyed this.


17901410Book Title: Shattered
Author: Teri Terry
Series: Slated #3
Publication Date: March 6th 2014
Genres: Dystopia, Science Fiction, Young Adult
My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

button (5)

Kyla is in danger from both the government Lorders who erased her memory and the terrorists who tried to use her. So now she’s on the run. Sporting a new identity and desperate to fill in the blank spaces of her life pre-Slating, Kyla heads to a remote mountain town to try to reunite with the birth mother she was kidnapped from as a child. There she is hoping all the pieces of her life will come together and she can finally take charge of her own future. But even in the idyllic wilderness and the heart of her original family, Kyla realizes there is no escape from the oppressive Lorders. Someone close to her may be one of them, and even more frighteningly, her birth mother has been keeping secrets of her own.

In this stunning series finale, Kyla finally finds out who she really is, and the road to this discovery, and to deciding who she wants to become, is full of dangerous twists and turns that will keep readers riveted.

MY THOUGHTS

It took me like, what, three days to finish this one. It’s not even the book’s fault. I had to put it down a few times because of the TV shows I’m so obsessed with (which you can read about here). Anyway, when I did pick this book up to finish it, I stayed up late reading. Like I-can-see-hints-of-sunrise-from-my-window late.

Since this is the last book in the Slated series, I’m really curious as to how it will conclude so I was really excited. The pacing was great throughout the whole book. There’s a great balance between information-centered and action-packed scenes. Still, the plot twists leave me shocked and the ending was actually alright for me.

Although I did tick off 2 stars because I was getting bothered by how Kyla still appears to be a bit of a dry character despite having her Levo, the device that prevents her from having extreme emotions, taken off. And I didn’t like the slight love triangle in this. Not at all. Oh, also, I really craved more of Aiden’s character. Other than those though, it was a great finale for the trilogy.

All book cover photos and book info (such as summary, publication, etc.) are taken from Goodreads.

Leave a comment