OMG / I Know That Song Book Tag!

Hello, friends! Today, I bring to you a super fun book tag! I was tagged by Divine from REA(D)IVINE (thank you!) to do this one more or less a year ago, but I was still on my hiatus at the time. I was so ready to jump into this as soon as I saw her post but I had to hold off and catch up on some reading since I haven’t read a lot of books recently.

So here I am now, a year and a few weeks later, finally doing the I Know That Song Book Tag. And I’m so excited because books and music are basically 2 of my most favorite things in the world!

RULES

The rules for this one are fairly simple. There will be a set of prompts given, and I will have to give a song and a book that corresponds to the prompt. Now let’s get to the good stuff!


MY JAM: A song you still listen to no matter how many times you’ve heard it and a book that you’ll never get sick of

Mr. Brightside by The Killers will always be my favorite song and no matter how many times I listen to it in the entirety of my life, I will never ever get tired of it. I love the fact that behind the catchy, upbeat tune, this song actually has such painful lyrics surrounding jealousy and paranoia in a relationship. The lyrics were written by the lead vocalist after having his heart broken by a cheating ex-girlfriend.

In days when I get sad, I listen to this particular cover of the song. A sad rendition of Mr. Brightside, Mr. Sad-side, and this just hits me right in the feels. Please treat your ears and watch this cover, and all of Grant’s other videos, because he is very talented and I may or may not have a gigantic crush on him. 😳

The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and it’s spin-off series, the Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan will always have a special place in my heart. I first read the books in my childhood years, and I have fallen in love with books since then. My growing love for mythology also rooted from the author and he has been one of my favorite authors since.

THROWBACK: A song that reminds you of the cringiest time in your life and a book you read that you wouldn’t like if you read it now

As much as I think this song is lovely, I never fail to cringe every time I hear or even think about Fifteen by Taylor Swift. Everything about it reminds me an embarrassing time in my life as a brokenhearted child over a crush which I thought was love at the time. *cringes for the 67th time*

I read That’s Not What I Heard by Stephanie Kate Strohm back in January last year, when it was first released and I seemed to enjoy it back then. Now, looking at its Goodreads page and upon reading the synopsis, I don’t understand how I could have possibly liked this one. I am genuinely surprised at the 4-star rating I gave it back then. I guess my reading preference has had a drastic change over time. You can read my review of the book here.

REPLAY: A recent song that you have on repeat and a recent favorite book

Hold Me Down by Halsey is by no means a recent song. This was released way back in 2015 but until now, this song has remained to be on repeat for me. Instead of the official audio, I linked the video of her live performance since I prefer it better.

Right before going onstage for the show, Halsey discovered she had a miscarriage but was encouraged to perform regardless. At the time, the management was absolutely horrible for not canceling the show, but the way Halsey directed her pain into her art made me look up to her more. The raw emotion, the pure anger and hurt she poured into performing, and the amount of strength she have to still continue the show… The moment I watched this performance, I knew I was gonna stan this woman!!

Also, the edgy, badass tune really complements the meaning and inspiration of the song:

I was meeting a bunch of mean, old men who thought they knew better than I. And I met this one guy in particular, a certain asshole who inspired this song. This song is a reminder that no matter how small you are or how small people may make you seem, you should never let anything hold you down.

– Halsey during a live show in June 2015

I am unsure if this counts as a favorite book since Killian’s Dead by Josie Jaffrey is a short story prequel for her upcoming urban fantasy series, but this is my latest 5-star read. I enjoyed it so much and it promised a fantastic series to come! You can read my review of the book here.

GETS ME: A song that is literally you and a book that is you in book form

THIS SONG IS ME IN A SONG. Confidently Lost by Sabrina Claudio is a song about being lost in life but being okay with that fact since it entails self-discovery and living with no regrets. And that is basically the story of my life. This song is one of the few things that helped me be more confident with the fact that I have no idea what I’m doing with my life. PLEASE do yourself a favor by listening to this one, and here is the complete lyrics and their interpretations so you can understand what I mean.

I read this one ages ago and I can’t remember a thing except for the fact that I relate to the main character and I loved this book back then. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson features a female protagonist who never stood out and has a track record of running away when things get complicated. And as much as I hate to admit it, but that is me to a T. I need to reread this book soon.

WUT: A weird song that you liked anyways and a unique book that stuck out to you for some reason

I don’t think this one’s that weird but most of my friends think so; so here it is. goodbye by Billie Eilish is the last track on her latest album, WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP WHERE DO WE GO? and this song has little lines from all the songs in the album. I particularly love this because it’s so clever, telling a story through the little snippets from all the songs mashed together.

This book is unique in the sense that I don’t get to read a lot of stories that feature over-the-top pranks and humor. While I enjoyed this one a lot, it wasn’t enough for a 5-star rating from me. Regardless, Don’t Get Caught by Kurt Dinan has always stuck out for me because it is just so hilarious! You can read my review of the book here.

LET’S GO: Pick your best pump up song and a book that inspires you

Throw A Fit by Tinashe will always be my go-to pump up song! I think my body is programmed to dance to this since every time I hear this, best believe that I will be bopping regardless of where I am. I listen to this in the morning, in the shower, when I’m doing chores, and I’m even listening to this one right now as I write this blog post.

I’ve been saying this a lot lately and I will say it again: KA-E-RO-U Time To Go Home by B. Jeanne Shibahara is a beautiful and inspiring novel. As much as it is about war and Japan’s culture, it is also a heartwarming journey of self-discovery. I highly recommend this one. You can read my review of the book here.

CHILL: Your best chill or relaxing song and a book you’d curl up with on a rainy day

No, not the movie. Frozen by Sabrina Claudio, or any song by her really, is the first thing that pops into my mind whenever anybody asks of a chill/relaxing song. I feel like I’m floating in a sky full of clouds whenever this song comes up. Listen to the song and you’ll know what I mean.

This is a perfect book to curl up with on a rainy day! With adorable romance and a focus on familial aspects, I couldn’t help but fall in love with Field Notes on Love by Jennifer E. Smith! I still remember all the feels I had while reading this one. ❤ You can read my review of the book here.

ADDICTING: A guilty pleasure song and a light, trashy read you can’t help but love

I’m not sure if this classifies as a guilty pleasure specifically, I just thought the song suited the light and fun mood of the prompt. Supercut by Lorde is one of my favorite songs, with its contagious tune and meaningful lyrics about dreaming of an idealistic romance and just reminiscing only about the good parts of a relationship.

I hate the stigma around “trashy” reads. In my opinion, there is absolutely nothing wrong with enjoying books that don’t feature social issues every now and then. For this one, and there is no doubt in my mind, Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins! I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS YEARS AGO WHEN I FIRST READ IT. This has inspired my love and curiosity of France, and I may or may not have tried French lessons because I thought it may come in handy when I land myself an Étienne St. Clair of my own. 😉 You can read my review of the book here.

NOSTALGIA: A throwback song you look back on fondly and a book you read and loved when you were young

DSIAKJCASACS I apologize for the keyboard smashing but I’m just I can’t even I don’t know how to contain myself. Boyfriend by Big Time Rush makes me so nostalgic and I hate the fact that I have no way to rewatch the episodes I grew up loving.

I feel like every reader has read and loved The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg when they were young. I’m sure I did. I remember being so shocked at the plot twists and I marveled at the plot!


Aaaaand that’s the end of the tag, everyone! This post has been way longer than I intended it to be, so sorry for my ramblings.

I’ve had so much fun doing this and I’m tagging these lovely people:

I hope you enjoyed! Now excuse me while I watching Big Time Rush clips on YouTube and memorize the lyrics to all their songs.

GOODREADS | TWITTER | TUMBLR | PINTEREST | FACEBOOK | EMAIL

15 thoughts on “OMG / I Know That Song Book Tag!

    • Thanks, Riv! It means a lot to me when people wanna check out my recommendations. ✨

      And oh, I want to get into k-pop as well so maybe you have a few recommendations for me? ☺️

      Like

  1. This book tag is the best because not only do I get some bomb book recs – I get some new songs to listen to too! Thanks for tagging me~ 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay, it always makes me happy when I get to share books and songs that I like to others. I hope you enjoy them!

      I’m excited to discover your book and song picks for each prompt so I’ll definitely be on the look out for your post! 💗

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a fun tag! I loved Anna and the French Kiss when I read it too! Have you read the spin-offs? I loved Isla and the Happily Ever After

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment